What Are the 7 Seals In Revelation?

The seven seals are prophecies about events to happen during the last generation of this present world. Chapter one of Revelation sets the stage for these events. "The Revelation of Jesus Christ, which God gave unto him, to shew unto his servants things which must shortly come to pass;" (Revelation 1:1 KJV). "Blessed is he that readeth, and they that hear the words of this prophecy, and keep those things which are written therein: for the time is at hand." (Revelation 1:3 KJV). From Strong's Exhaustive Concordance Of The Bible, the word revelation means to disclose or to reveal.

The seven seals in Revelation are written in Revelation chapters 5, 6, and 8. The seven seals close a book that has been written, and Jehovah God's Son, Jesus Christ, is found as the only one worthy to open the book. See Revelation 5:1-5.

After Jesus Christ begins to open the seals, a series of events begin that lead to Christ's second coming. The length of these events is about a generation. The last of these seals point to Christ's second coming. "And said to the mountains and rocks, Fall on us, and hide us from the face of him that sitteth on the throne, and from the wrath of the Lamb: For the great day of his wrath is come; and who shall be able to stand?" See the description of the sixth seal in Revelation 6:12-17. 

Studies on this website help prove the time line of the seals being opened in the last generation, before Christ's second coming. Click on the links to these studies for further information: Recognizing The Last Generation and The Sign of Christ's Second Coming.

To continue with the a description of the seven seals, click on the next Prophecy link: The First 4 Seals Have Been Opened.

Most Recent Topics